Small Business Charter

5th June 2014

Business Schools visited Number 10 (Downing Street) to receive their Small Business Charter Awards.


“The Small Business Charter originated following Lord Young’s report ‘Growing Your Business’, which was aimed at bringing business schools, business and entrepreneurs closer together to deliver real change. Supported by the Association of Business Schools, Lord Young and the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills, the Small Business Charter Awards offers a springboard to unlocking support and investment for students, start-ups and small businesses. The Charter also follows the Association of Business Schools’ Innovation Taskforce report.

Congratulating the Small Business Charter award-winners for their trail-blazing work, which Lord Young recommended to the Prime Minister in his report on enterprise last year, he said:

“The recipients of today’s award have all demonstrated exceptional dedication to improving links with and supporting small businesses in their local area, already creating over 800 jobs. Our world-class universities and business schools are a key part of the UK economy – even more so as a result of this initiative. I hope that these awards will be the first of many and build on the outstanding work our business schools do to boost enterprise locally.”

“The Small Business Charter unleashes the full potential of business schools as an asset for British enterprise. The schools celebrated today are set to become a nationwide network of entrepreneur-focused hubs for talent, creativity and ideas. The work underway and the work to come is about backing growth by realising new sources of skill and innovation. The schools are a national asset enhancing both the scale up potential of existing firms and supercharging the UK’s energetic start up culture. Today is an important point of recognition for the 20 pioneering schools that are exemplars of academia providing an infrastructure for the growth of small business. It is a culture of collaboration that is set to be accelerated as the Charter becomes a hallmark of national enterprise excellence.”

The 20 Business Schools being awarded the Small Business Charter are:

Aston University, Aston Business School

Coventry University, Coventry Business School

Edinburgh Napier Business School

Kingston University, Kingston Business School

Lancaster University Management School

Loughborough University School of Business and Economics

Manchester Metropolitan University Business

Nottingham Trent University, Nottingham Business School

Southampton Solent University, Faculty of Business, Sport & Enterprise

University College London, Department of Management Science and Innovation

University of Birmingham, Birmingham Business School

University of Leeds, Leeds University Business

University of Leicester School of Management

University of Liverpool Management School

University of Northampton Business School

University of Nottingham, Nottingham University Business School

University of Salford, Salford Business School

University of Strathclyde, Strathclyde Business School

University of the West of England, Bristol Business School

University of Wolverhampton Business School


“Award-winning schools collectively offer on-site incubators with dedicated space for students and small businesses to start up and grow, a dedicated Small Business Growth & Leadership programme driving real impact and a strong full time support network of alumni and local business experts to support both students and small businesses.”




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s